Omicron Variant Spotted in Third of US States

Omicron Variant Spotted in Third of US States

The new Omicron variant of the coronavirus has now been found in about a third of all US states. Still, the Delta variant of the virus remains responsible for 99.9 percent of all infections in the country, US health officials said on Sunday.


The Omicron variant has spread to at least sixteen states: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin.

Many of the Omicron infections involve people who have been fully vaccinated. But they have only mild symptoms.

Anthony Fauci, the top medical adviser to the US government, told CNN on Sunday that the situation regarding the Omicron variant in the United States “is not very serious yet”. However, he added that it is too early to draw definitive conclusions and that more research is needed.

Leave a Reply